As Yet Unsorted

Writing to get where I hope to be.

Groundhog Day (Again?)

Leave a comment

So, somehow it’s already February, Groundhog Day, to be precise. Both of Pennsylvania’s furry prognosticators have predicted an early Spring, which I can get behind, even though the thought of the year whizzing by even faster than it is already seems a little daunting. No matter what the rodents say, we are smack in the middle of winter, doldrums and all.

Because I have a tendency to be dragged down by the chill and the dark (even as they are both receding) this time of year, I have set myself two tasks for February: A Month of Letters and renewing my gratitude list practice on Facebook, but purely in visual form.

Once upon a time, not so very long ago, I wrote letters regularly, and I miss the habit. I have done the letter month before, and am looking forward to doing it again, with the hope that it gets me back in the swing of writing letters and sending postcards more frequently throughout the year (if you’d like me to mail you something this month, let me know). Full disclosure: I sent something yesterday, but did not get today’s letter into the mail before I came home, so will be sending two things tomorrow.

Gratitude lists are something I’ve been doing on Facebook on and off for a few years now, and people seem to appreciate them. I fell out of the habit in November, and this is probably the longest I’ve gone without posting them for a while. Occasionally, I’ll post one composed of photos I’ve taken with my phone over the course of the day. A couple of weeks ago, I decided that I’d start up again in February, and only use photos for the month. I’d like to say I’ll do them daily, but I’m not entirely sure whether I’ll manage that, but I’ll shoot for as close as possible.

Those are my plans, aside from the day-to-day activities, to make this shortest month — that can sometimes seems the longest — into a time of reflection and paying attention to details. What about you? Are you doing anything to combat winter doldrums, now that we’ve reached the hinge of the season?

Leave a Reply

